September 9, 2006

DC Board of Elections and Ethics 441 4th Street NW, Suite 250 North Washington, DC 20001

Dear Board Members,

By means of this letter, please accept my irrevocable, prospective resignation as Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner for Single Member District 6A03. The effective date of my resignation will be September 14, 2006. Although I would prefer to complete my term of office, I have accepted an offer of employment that requires a change of residence outside my Single Member District.

I have greatly enjoyed my service as an Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner for the past four years. I have been fortunate to serve with competent, intelligent, and caring fellow Commissioners in ANC 6A. Together with residents who have volunteered their time and talents to our various committees, we have accomplished many important goals, including:

- 1. Completion of the H Street NE Strategic Development Plan in cooperation with ANC 6C and the Office of Planning;
- 2. Adoption of a zoning overlay with incentives for neighborhood-serving commercial and residential redevelopment and pedestrian-friendly design on H Street NE;
- 3. Planning for streetscape improvements at the Starburst intersection and along H Street NE;
- 4. A commitment from the city to bring streetcar service back to H Street NE;
- 5. Right-zoning of the MedLINK site in cooperation with ANC 6C and neighborhood organizations;
- 6. Advocacy for meaningful neighborhood input on land use and planning, including siting and design of fast food restaurants and charter schools where they impact residential areas, and;
- 7. New bike lanes, car sharing spaces, and street tree plantings throughout the ANC.

Perhaps most importantly, together and with the support of residents we represent, we have created an ANC that works. I wish my fellow commissioners the best of luck in the future.

Sincerely,

<original signed>

Cody Rice

Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner (6A03)

cc: Joseph Fengler, Chair of Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6A
Anthony A. Williams, Mayor
Ira Stohlman, Acting Secretary to the DC Council
Gottlieb Simon, Office of Advisory Neighborhood Commissions