## **MINUTES**

## ANC 6A Transportation & Public Space Committee Meeting Public Meeting - All are welcome Tuesday, June 20th at 7:00 pm

I. Meeting called to order at 7:25pm.

A motion was made to install Mark Sussman as Acting Chair and Jeff Fletcher as Acting Co-Chair for the meeting due to excused absences of regular Co-Chairs, Shaun Lynch and Caitlin Rogger. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Shapiro and passed unanimously with all Committee members and Commissioners present voting in favor.

II. Introductions & Announcements.

Committee members present: Mark Sussman (Acting Chair) and Jeff Fletcher (Acting Co-Chair)

Commissioners present: <u>Amber Gove</u> (ANC 6A Chair, 6A04), <u>Keya Chatterjee</u> (6A01) Roberta Shapiro (6A03), Robb Dooling (6A06)

## III. Old Business.

- A. DDOT update on the Florida Avenue NE Streetscape Project. Mr. Mohamed Dahir, DDOT Project Manager, introduced the Florida Avenue NE Streetscape Project team to present an update on the project. The project team included Outreach Team Members Stacee Hemby and Peyton Manning of TB&A, Construction Manager Nandlal Gevaria of Somat Engineering, and Metro Paving Corporation Vice President Manuel Rodrigues and Project Manager Josh Otero. Mr. Gevaria provided an overview of DDOT's project goals, and noted that DC Water and Washington Gas have projects aligned with this. DC Water is spending \$5.3M to upgrade all of the water mains in the corridor. Washington Gas began upgrading gas lines in 2021 and will complete lines along this corridor by the end of this year. DDOT staff agreed to meet Commissioners at 14th and G NE AND to follow up at TPS committee meeting every month.
- B. Maury Elementary School Parking Zone application. Jason Meggs, DDOT School Parking Zone Program Manager presented data from DDOT's survey of Maury staff parking behavior and preferences. Maury Elementary School representatives Courtney Wolfe and Patrick Koontz presented the application for daytime permits for Maury staff to park in Residential Parking locations in 6A. Mr. Koontz noted that the Visitor Parking Permits being allocated by parents volunteering their permits was insufficient for staff needs. Commissioner Gove made a motion recommending: that ANC 6A send a letter of support for Maury's application for a School Parking Zone, with four recommendations: that Maury prioritize on-site spaces for mobility-impaired staff and staff using carpools; that Maury staff not utilize Resident Parking Zones; that the school comply with the intent and spirit of the Transportation Benefits Equity Act; and that school leadership would not solicit Visitor Parking Permits for staff use. Commissioner Shapiro made a friendly amendment that the resolution be used as a template for other 6A schools who apply for a School Parking Zone, which Commissioner Gove accepted, and seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously, with all ANC Commissioners and TPS Committee Members present voting yes.

C. Update on K St Roadway Improvement Project. A DDOT representative was not available to present about the project. Commissioner Chatterjee made a motion recommending: that ANC 6A send a letter of support reiterating ANC 6A's support for extending the bicycle lanes on K St NE to meet the pocket park to be installed at 8th and K St NE and connect to the bicycle lane on West Virginia NE. Commissioner Dooling seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously, with all ANC Commissioners and TPS Committee Members present voting yes.

## IV. New Business

- A. Vision Zero streetscape hardening. Mr. Othman Chebli of the DDOT Vision Zero Team presented the team's data collection activities and findings that support the streetscape hardening at 13<sup>th</sup> St NE and Constitution Ave NE and at 11<sup>th</sup> St NE and East Capitol St, and several other Capitol Hill locations, along with other safety and streetscape hardening efforts. Mr. Chebli noted that many more locations would be identified in FY2024, and asked for feedback.
- B. Public Space Permit Application #11005761. Dante Datta and David Levy presented the permit application for a new un-enclosed sidewalk café at Daru, 1451 Maryland Ave NE and requested support. Commissioner Chatterjee made a motion recommending: that ANC 6A support the application. Commissioner Dooling seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously, with all ANC Commissioners and TPS Committee Members present voting yes.
- C. Ward 6 Sidewalk Survey. Commissioner Shapiro reported the major findings of the survey, noting both major generators of safety issues for pedestrians and challenges in ensuring DDOT addresses these issues in a timely fashion.
- D. Pedestrian concerns in 6A. Cheryle Adams, Ward 6 Representative, Pedestrian Advisory Council (PAC), described the work of the PAC and asked for recurring feedback from ANC 6A residents, commissioners and committee members. Speed management adjacent to Miner Elementary. Commissioner Dooling described a variety of safety concerns in and adjacent to the school zone. Commissioner Dooling made a motion recommending: that ANC 6A write a letter to urge DDOT to install a raised crosswalk and speedbumps adjacent to the entrance to Miner Elementary School (15th St and Tennessee Ave/on 15th St) prior to the beginning of the SY23-24 school year (August 28th, 2023). Commissioner Gove seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously, with all ANC Commissioners and TPS Committee Members present voting yes.
- E. Study potential one-way conversion for 1400 G St NE. Commissioner Dooling reminded the committee of long-term interest in whether reconfiguring the 1400 block of G St NE would yield safety benefits. Commissioner Dooling made a motion recommending: that ANC 6A write a letter to DDOT requesting attention to and prioritization of traffic safety input requests for the 1400 block of G Street NE. Commissioner Gove made a friendly amendment that ANC 6A send a letter that lists the TSIs on the 1400 block of G St NE as they identify their next priorities, which was accepted. Commissioner Chatterjee seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously, with all ANC Commissioners and TPS Committee Members present voting yes.
- V. Community Comment. None, due to time.
- VI. Adjourn meeting

The meeting was adjourned at 9:54 pm.